Arizona & Its Representation

Arizona was the last of the contiguous states to be accepted into the United States. It was originally part of a much larger territory that included New Mexico that was part of the 1848 Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo that ended the Mexican-American War.

Arizona was considered part of the New Mexico Territory until it succeeded from the U.S. in 1861 to join the Confederate States of America. The state has the honor of being the home of the most western battle in the Civil War – the Battle of Picacho Pass.

Arizona is sometimes referred to as the Valentine State because it was accepted into the union on Feb. 14, 1912.

The state’s economy was built on the 5 C’s: copper, cattle, cotton, climate and citrus. Copper, cattle and climate are still major moneymakers in the state, but tourism and service industry business have also joined the ranks. In 2011, the state’s gross state product was around $259 billion. It has a median household income of $50,448 and a population of around 6.3 million according to the 2010 census.

It also contains one of the seven natural wonders of the world, the Grand Canyon, which is about 277 miles long, more than a mile deep and ranges from 4 to 18 miles in width.

The Arizona Legislature has two houses – a 60 member House of Representatives and a 30-member Senate. Each member of the Legislator is elected to a 2-year term and is limited to 4 consecutive terms in each chamber. Each of the 15 counties is represented by two representatives and 1 senator.

The Arizona governor is elected to a 4-year term and may only serve 2 consecutive terms. The state does not have a lieutenant governor. The secretary of state takes the place of governor in the event the governor resigns or is removed from office.

Other state officials include the: secretary of state, treasurer, attorney general, superintendent of public instruction, mine inspector and the 5-member Corporation Commission, which licenses businesses and utilities in the state.

Arizona Governor:

Jan Brewer
Executive Tower
1700 W. Washington Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(800) 253-0883

Arizona’s representatives to the U.S. House & Senate:

Sen. John McCain –R
Phoenix Office
2201 East Camelback Road Suite 115
Phoenix, AZ 85016
(602) 952-2410
Washington, D.C. Office
241 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
(202) 224-2235

Sen. Jeff Flake –R
Phoenix Office
2200 E. Camelback Road Suite 120
Phoenix, AZ 85016
(602) 840-1891
Washington, D.C. Office
Senate Russell Office Building 368
Washington, D.C. 20510
(202) 224-4521

Mohave County’s representatives to Arizona's House & Senate:

Doris Goodale
House of Representatives
1700 W. Washington Room 313
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 926-5408

Kelli Ward -R
Senate 1700 W. Washington Room 306
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 926-4138

Sonny Borrelli - R
House of Representatives
1700 W. Washington Room 310
Phoenix, AZ 85007
(602) 926-5051


Golf Courses


Real Estate

State Information